Feast Day

Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

Prayer to the Sacred Heart of Jesus

O Sacred Heart of Jesus,
filled with Infinite Love;
broken by our ingratitude
and pierced by our sins;
yet loving us still;
accept the consecration
we make to Thee
of all that we are and all
that we have.
Take every faculty of our
souls and bodies, only
day by day draw us
nearer and nearer to
Thy Sacred Heart;
and there as we shall
hear the lesson,
teach us Thy Holy Way.


O most Holy Heart of Jesus,
fountain of every blessing,

I adore you, I love you, and with
lively sorrow for my sins
I offer you this poor heart of mine.
Make me humble, patient,
pure and wholly obedient
to Your will. Grant, Good Jesus,
that I may live in You and for You.

About the Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

The Sacred Heart of Jesus is a special form of devotion to the physical heart of Jesus. It is the love He shares with the Father and the Holy Spirit for humanity.

In the eleventh and twelfth centuries, devotion to the Sacred Heart arose in Benedictine and Cistercian monasteries. Passages from the published work “Vitis mystica” inspired the devotion and were used by the Church for the lessons of the Second Nocturn of the feast. From the thirteenth to the sixteenth centuries the devotion was practiced by different congregations such as Franciscans, Dominicans and Carthusians but remained an individual or private devotion.

St. Eudes made the devotion public in the seventeenth century, gave it an Office, and established a feast for it. He shared devotion to the Sacred Heart along with his devotion to the Immaculate Heart. Little by little the devotions separated and the first feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus was celebrated on August 31, 1670.

On December 27, 1673, on the Feast of St. John, Saint Margaret Mary Alacoque, a sister at the Visitation convent in France, began to have visions of Jesus. He [Jesus] asked her to promote devotion to His sacred heart, symbolic of His love for humanity. Jesus attached twelve promises (*see below) to those who practiced devotion to His Sacred Heart including peace in familiesconsolation in time of troubleabundant blessings, and refuge at the hour of death. By order of Pope Leo XIII in 1899, all of mankind was solemnly consecrated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

Jesus’ Sacred Heart is typically pictured as a flaming heart, pierced, surrounded by a crown of thorns and bleeding. The wounds and thorns symbolize the manner of His death, and the fire represents His burning undying love.

Feast Day: 19 days after Pentecost
Patron Saint of: Ecuador

The 12 Promises of the Sacred Heart given to St. Margaret from Jesus

  1. I [Jesus] will give them all the graces necessary for their state of life;
  2. I will give peace in their families;
  3. I will console them in all their troubles;
  4. I will be their refuge in life and especially in death;
  5. I will abundantly bless all their undertakings;
  6. Sinners shall find in My Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy;
  7. Tepid souls shall become fervent;
  8. Fervent souls shall rise speedily to great perfection;
  9. I will bless those places wherein the image of My Sacred Heart shall be exposed and venerated;
  10. I will give to priests the power to touch the most hardened hearts;
  11. Persons who propagate this devotion shall have their names eternally written in My Heart;
  12. In the excess of the mercy of My Heart, I promise you that My all powerful love will grant to all those who will receive Communion on the First Fridays, for nine consecutive months, the grace of final repentance: they will not die in My displeasure, nor without receiving the sacraments; and My Heart will be their secure refuge in that final hour.

What is the Sacred Heart?

The devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus is one of the most widely practiced and well-known Catholic devotions, wherein the heart of Jesus is viewed was a symbol of “God’s boundless and passionate love for mankind.” The prayer to the Sacred Heart of Jesus is most powerful, and should be prayed by every person. 

What is the novena to the Sacred Heart of Jesus?

A novena prayer is traditionally prayed for nine consecutive days prior to a Solemnity Feast. However, a novena can be prayed any time. St. Margaret Mary Alocoque fostered devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus following powerful apparitions she was granted by Jesus of His most Sacred Heart.

Who painted the Sacred Heart of Jesus?

Pompeo Batoni. The best known representation was a small painting designed by Popeo Batoni and the Jesuit Domenico Maria Saverio Calvi for Rome’s Church of the Gesu in 1767.

See Also:
Invocation of the Sacred Heart
Immaculate Heart of Mary

For Additional Catholic Prayers and Novenas, CLICK HERE

Trending Articles:
Most Powerful Psalm of Protection: Psalm 91
10 Best Psalms of Praise and Thanksgiving
19 Best Psalms for Healing
7 Powerful Psalms for a Financial Breakthrough
28 Best Bible Verses for Answered Prayer
Powerful Prayer for a Miracle

0 comments on “Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

Leave us your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Weekly Psalms sent directly to your Inbox!